Read ‘Em and Weep – Reading the Charts

18 Nov
Magic Seaweed

Magic Seaweed Surf Forecast Newquay

Office bound surfers are often to be found trying to surreptitiously check the surf forecast throughout the week, anticipating their release when the clock strikes 5:00 pm. The problem with these short days and long nights means we can no longer sneak a quick dip before and after work. The onus falls squarely on the weekend now.

What is worse than a chart denoting no swell and flat conditions for a surfer like me? A chart a bit like the one shown on this post. Why you ask?

I have watched all week and seen the charts looking full of friendly 3-4 foot surf. I have seen the Tweets from the smug weekday surfers, and viewed the pictures posted by the oh so helpful surf magazines. ‘Look what you’re missing’ they scream. So now it is the weekend, and I along with the other weekend warriors are amped to get wet, and Saturdays forecast is for 7-11 foot swell.

Too big for me! Cold, overhead surf is not want I want for my play time. I am happy to accept that I am a wimp. My muscles have slowly been turning to jelly whilst sat at my desk munching cake all week. The challenge is now on to find somewhere where it will still be fun.

Cornish beach breaks do not generally hold large swells particularly well, although there are exceptions. Even the sheltered spots are likely to be heavy and rammed with others who have had the same thought process as me. I do have something up my sleeve, a semi secret spot. Somewhere between Newquay and Bude lies this very Cornish spot. If the tide is right and the swell gets in, long right handers will be mine, oh yes, they will be mine.

3 Responses to “Read ‘Em and Weep – Reading the Charts”

  1. Cynthia November 18, 2011 at 7:32 pm #

    What about dawn patrol? Dawn’s not too late yet for me to squeeze an uncrowded session in before work.

    We’ve got a similar swell popping up for Saturday in NorCal, and all the jonesing surfers in Santa Cruz will be on it. Hope you find some good waves at your spot!

  2. surfthechairman November 20, 2011 at 7:06 pm #

    Any photos of this magic right? And did it involve a long walk through a ravine to a beach only exposed at low tide…?

    • Kaya Lucy November 20, 2011 at 9:00 pm #

      I do have a picture of my friend surfing it. I will add as a new post, but I cannot tell you where it is or I will have to kill you! It was too busy on Saturday! There are a couple of secret(ish) spots nearby that involve walking down a valley to a beach only exposed at low tide, but that’s all I can say.

Leave a Reply

