A New Board…

13 Aug

Thanks to Bro and Paul at Diplock Phoenix, my birthday present was quite exceptional this year.  A gift from my husband who decided that it was time for me to learn to glide on something with a bit more length!

The dimensions of my new board are 9’0″ x 21 3/4 x 2 3/4.  It has a square tail with a triple stringer, 2 plus 1 FCS fin set up and perfect pink resin tint.  Enough to put a smile on any girls face. 

In laymans terms, what the above means is that for a shortboarder who turns on her rails (like me), the board is a blessing.  The board is a hybrid, and compared to a more traditional mal, the fins are situated further towards the centre of the board and the tail is narrow and drawn out.  This means it is incredibly manoeuvrable and generally more forgiving, especially for someone who is not used to having to take a step back to turn a board. The unique design of the tail will hold its position in the wave much like a large single fin. With a traditional nose, if my longboarding progresses and I manage to cross more than one step forward, the board will be perfect for classic tricks such as nose riding and hanging five or ten.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

5 Responses to “A New Board…”

  1. Lucy Lepchani August 24, 2010 at 7:22 am #

    Great to read some sea, cider and surf tech blog with a female perspective! More please!

  2. 20somethingnomore December 26, 2014 at 3:03 pm #

    Hi! I love your blog. I chanced upon it as I was looking for the perfect hot pink tint for my first ever customised board. Can you share with me the details (pantone), please? 🙂 I’m a newbie surf girl and am looking for any inspiration to pursue this new found passion!

    Thanks a lot!

    xoxo,
    Ish

    • Kaya Lucy December 26, 2014 at 5:54 pm #

      Hi Ish, thanks for your comment. I will ask my shaper what the Pantone ref is and let you know. Might take a week or so 🙂

  3. 20somethingnomore December 26, 2014 at 6:00 pm #

    Hi Kaya,
    Thank you, I’ll wait. I really appreciate it 🙂 Happy Holidays from Manila, Philippines!

    Ish

  4. 20somethingnomore May 31, 2015 at 5:16 pm #

    Hi Kaya,
    Any luck with the Panton ref is? 🙂

    Ish

Leave a Reply

